The diary of a copy editor part three

It was going to be another normal budget meeting last Tuesday until we received word that Greitens was going to resign within the next 15 minutes. It was really cool being at the Missourian while there was breaking news!

I looked at a lot of copy Tuesday evening. It may have been the most I’ve looked at so far this semester. I look back at the first shift I worked, and it looks like I didn’t do anything compared to my shifts now.

I came close to my headlines making it to print but the words slightly altered once they moved to the next editor. My online headlines have read well, and I haven’t had a problem with writing tweets.

On Sunday, Brendan and I wrote the newsletter and edited a few opinion and local stories. Because I enjoy working with Social News Desk, I love my Sunday shifts.

Here’s a link to my desk log:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1bNF_VtB9_ou9kS1gOyUw8gId-Vv7-dG8-ZfJKFRkT-g/edit?usp=sharing

Leave a comment